Glastonbury Live Stream headliners confirm - with Coldplay, Jorja Smith, and Haim all confirmed!

Here's everything you need to know about the virtual event that everyone is talking about

Glastonbury Festival
(Image credit: OLI SCARFF / Contributor / Getty Images)

Glastonbury Festival is going virtual this year and the new lineup for the events has been announced, so here is everything you need to know…

The Glastonbury Festival was postponed in 2020 with hopes that the festival will go ahead in 2021. Although the festival won’t be taking place in its usual format this year, it has just been announced that the festival will be going ahead as a virtual event.

Glastonbury announced, “We’re delighted to announce that we’re hosting an exclusive livestream concert from Worthy Farm on Saturday, 22nd May!” They also released a trailer for the live event to give fans a taste of what they can expect from the event.

Read more from woman&home:  
Best travel pillows for every kind of trip and sleeper
Best scented candles for a warm and cozy home
Best Kindles for digital book lovers – we help you decide which one to buy

Who is in the Glastonbury / Live at Worthy Farm 2021 line up?

The organisers of Glastonbury have announced that Coldplay, Damon Albarn, Haim, Idles, Jorja Smith, Kano, Michael Kiwanuka, DJ Honey Dijon, and Wolf Alice will perform at the event. There will be more performers announced closer to the time and there will also be some surprise guests during the event. 

Many of the performers that have confirmed will not be accepting money for the event. Event organiser Emily Eavis said, “We were in the very fortunate position of being approached by a few people offering their support or help if we did something.”

Performer Michael Kiwanuka told the Guardian. “It’s important for me to support Glastonbury because it’s been such a landmark event since I’ve been alive or indeed been playing my music. It’s something that brings people together for all the right reasons, but primarily as a celebration of live music.”

Wolf Alice's drummer, Joel Amey, also said, “In all honesty, there probably isn’t a lot that Wolf Alice wouldn’t do for Glastonbury. We’ve had the best times both there and at the Pilton Party, and we’re so excited to be involved in this one.”

How much will tickets cost?

Festival co-organiser Emily Eavis called the event, “one continuous wild night,” and said that tickets for the event will cost £20 and there will be unlimited capacity. “We always try to keep the ticket price down,” said Eavis. 

She continued to say, “Some people said, ‘You could charge £60.’ We were like, no. For a while we thought we could do it for free. But actually, we do need to have a ticket price and £20 seems really reasonable for that many acts.”

Why are the Glastonbury organisers doing a live event?

Emily Eavis, one of festival organisers said about the event, “After two Glastonbury cancellations, it brings us great pleasure to announce our first online livestream, which will present live music performances filmed across Worthy Farm at landmarks including the Pyramid and, for the first time ever, the Stone Circle. It will feature a rolling cast of artists and performers who have all given us enormous support by agreeing to take part in this event, showing the farm as you have never seen it.”

She also hinted at some surprise guests, “There will also be some very special guest appearances and collaborations. We are hoping this will bring a bit of Glastonbury to your homes and that for one night only people all over the world will be able to join us on this journey through the farm together!” she said.

When is Glastonbury’s Live at Worthy Farm?

The festival will take place on Saturday 22nd May 2021. The broadcast will take place across four different time zones and last for a total of five hours. The organisers announced the times for the different start times:

Livestream #1 – UK, EUROPE, AFRICA & MIDDLE EAST: 19.00 BST / 20.00 CEST & SAST / 21.00 MSK & EEST / 22.00 GST

Livestream #2 – NORTH AMERICA (EAST COAST) and CENTRAL & SOUTH AMERICA: 18.00 CDT / 19.00 EDT / 20.00 ART & BRT

Livestream #3 – NORTH AMERICA (WEST COAST): 19.00 PDT

Livestream #4 – AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND & ASIA (on Sunday 23rd May): 16.00 ICT / 17.00 HKT & PHST / 18.00 JST & KST/ 19.00 AEST / 21.00 NZST