Bernardine Evaristo announced to chair Women's Prize for Fiction 2021

Who else will be joining her?

Women's Prize for Fiction Judges 2021
(Image credit: Sam Holden Agency for the Women’s Prize for Fiction)

Each year book lovers across the nation eagerly look forward to the announcement of the winner of the prestigious Women’s Prize for Fiction.

This year was no exception, with bestselling author Maggie O’Farrell going on to win the Women's Prize for Fiction with Hamnet, a re-imagining of the life of Shakespeare’s son.

But which female writer will follow her in 2021? And who are the people in the coveted judges seats?

MORE:Richard and Judy launch podcast following infamous book club success

It has been announced today that the Chair of Judges for 2021 will be none other than Bernardine Evaristo. The acclaimed author of Girl, Woman, Other commented that she was looking forward to chairing the judging panel, saying, “The Women’s Prize for Fiction is such an essential and exciting prize".

She added that she is also looking forward to “discovering a wide range of novels that will give me a strong sense of the preoccupations, styles and aesthetics of contemporary women’s fiction. I hope to be blown away by some exceptional novels and to discover some hidden gems that deserve more attention and a wider readership.”

Who will be joining Bernadine Evaristo as judges?

Women's Prize for Fiction judges

Chair of Judges, Bernardine Evaristo, is joined by four other influential industry experts.

  • Vick Hope, TV and Radio presenter, journalist and writer
  • Elizabeth Day, podcaster, author and journalist
  • Nesrine Malik, print columnist and writer
  • Sarah-Jane Mee, news presenter and broadcaster

With their combined experience and instinct for truly inspiring reads, we can't wait to hear their 2021 shortlist!

What is the WPF Prize?

The annual Women’s Prize for Fiction is awarded for the best full-length novel of the year written in English and published in the United Kingdom between 1 April 2020 and 31 March 2021.

The Prize champions excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing, and the winner receives a cheque for £30,000, anonymously endowed.

They also receive a limited edition bronze statuette known as the ‘Bessie’, created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven.

MORE:42 book club books that get conversation (and wine) flowing

With 2020 marking the 25th anniversary of the Women’s Prize for Fiction, the Prize is also asking the public to vote for their favourite winner from the last 25 years. The winner with the most votes will be crowned the ‘Winner of Winners’ in a celebration of this occasion.

Voting will close on 1 November and the winner will be revealed on 12 November.

This ‘Winner of Winners’ will receive a specially commissioned silver ‘Bessie’. An exciting digital event is set to take place towards the end of November in celebration.

Further information about the Prize, its anniversary year, the judging process and selection criteria can be found HERE.

Emma Shacklock

Emma is a Royal Editor with eight years experience working in publishing. Her specialist areas include the British Royal Family, ranging from protocol to outfits. Alongside putting her royal knowledge to good use, Emma knows all there is to know about the latest TV shows on the BBC, ITV and more. When she’s not writing about the next unmissable show to add to your to-watch list or delving into royal protocol, Emma enjoys cooking, long walks and watching yet more crime dramas!