Queen makes historic change across UK in celebration of the Platinum Jubilee

The Queen makes historic changes across the UK as eight places have been awarded city status in celebration of the jubilee

Queen makes historic change
(Image credit: Dominic Lipinski - WPA Pool/Getty Images)

The Queen makes historic change across the United Kingdom as it is revealed that in celebration of her Platinum Jubilee, eight locations in the UK will receive city status.

On behalf of Her Majesty, the Cabinet Office announced that a 'record number' of locations had been awarded the highly coveted city status. It was revealed that a Platinum Jubilee Civic Honors Competition was put in place and applicants from the various places were asked to demonstrate how their community deserved to be awarded city status.

Many places discussed their local identity, cultural significance, royal associations, and history while competing for the opportunity to become a city. This was also the first time that overseas territories and crown dependencies were allowed to apply for city status and two areas in the Falklands and Isle of Man are now winners of city status. 

Although eight cities were successful, there were 38 applicants for this prestigious award and many places such as Guildford in Surrey, Gibraltar, Coleraine in County Londonderry, and Reading in Berkshire, were unsuccessful.

Included in eight new cities are Stanley, the capital of the Falkland Islands, Douglas in the Isle of Man, Bangor in Northern Ireland, Colchester in England, Doncaster in England, Milton Keynes in England, Dunfermline in Scotland, and Wrexham in Wales.

Queen's Platinum Jubilee 2022 celebrations are drawing closer, Her Majesty is seen here during her visit to Paddington Station in London on May 17, 2022

(Image credit: ANDREW MATTHEWS/POOL/AFP via Getty Images)

People in the UK are delighted with the news of the new cities and many have taken to social media to thank the Queen for this huge honor.

Doncaster Council said on Twitter, "We're VERY pleased to confirm that Doncaster has won City Status as part of Her Majesty the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Celebrations! We're one of 8 new cities to win the honour. Thank you to everyone who gave us such amazing support to make our bid a winning one!"

"OFFICIAL! We will be CITY OF WREXHAM Perhaps the most historic announcement of its kind in 160+ years for the town, we have won the City Status competition!" said Wrexham city on Twitter.

See more

Speaking about this exciting new change, Culture Secretary Nadine Dorries said, "City Status is a huge accolade and I congratulate our eight brilliant winners. This competition showcases the best of Britain and the Overseas Territories and will act as a lasting legacy of Her Majesty The Queen’s Platinum Jubilee."

In 2012 only three towns were awarded city status in celebration of the Queen's Diamond Jubilee. This included Chelmsford in Essex, England, Perth in Central Scotland, and St Asaph in Denbighshire, Wales.

Laura Harman

Laura is a news writer for woman&home who primarily covers entertainment and celebrity news. Laura dabbles in lifestyle, royal, beauty, and fashion news, and loves to cover anything and everything to do with television and film. She is also passionate about feminism and equality and loves writing about gender issues and feminist literature.

Laura loves drinking and eating and can often be found trying to get reservations at London's trendiest restaurants. When she's not wining and dining, Laura can also be found travelling, baking, and hiking with her dog.