The TV adaptation of Conversations with Friends has begun filming—and we can't wait!

Conversations with Friends, the 'cousin' to Sally Rooney's Normal People, is coming to screens soon

Conversations with Friends
(Image credit: Simone Padovani/Awakening / Getty Images)

Conversations with Friends is the next Sally Rooney novel that has picked up by BBC Three and Huluand good news for fans, as filming has already started!

It was announced in 2020 that Sally Rooney’s first book Conversations With Friends is being made into BBC series. The book was released in 2017 and if you haven’t already read this novel in your book club, you need to hurry before it comes out—as filming began this week! 

An official account for the adaptation production revealed that Conversations with Friends started filming in the UK. The post said, “It's Day 1 of filming #ConversationswithFriends in Northern Ireland! We're so excited to bring this world to life.”

See more

Fans of Sally Rooney and Normal People are extremely excited to see this book brought to life and many took to social media to show their support for the new project. One fan commented, “Eeekkkk! So excited for this!!” Another said, “I have a feeling this is gonna be just as good as Normal People. I'm so excited.”

The cast for this new production was announced earlier in the year and fans are extremely excited. Joe Alwyn is set to lead the cast in Sally Rooney's Conversations with Friends, with other cast members including Alison Oliver as Frances, Sasha Lane as Bobbi, and Jemima Kirke as Melissa.

See more

Like Normal People, the series will consist of 12 half an hour episodes that will appear on BBC Three and Hulu. Normal People fans will also be pleased to hear that Conversations with Friends may feature some familiar faces as Lenny Abrahamson, the Conversations With Friends director, teased a possible Marianne and Connell appearance

Lenny also directed Normal People and has spoken about the similarity between the projects. In an interview about Conversations with Friends with Radio Times, the director stated, "we’ve described it as a kind of cousin to Normal People."

For those of you who have already binged all of Normal People and are desperate for more content from Sally Rooney, don't fret! Sally Rooney is releasing a new book on the power of female friendship titled Beautiful World, Where Are You, which is set to be published on 7th September 2021.