How to watch Queen Elizabeth II's funeral in the US and UK

Queen Elizabeth II's funeral will take place on Monday, September 19 and will be televised around the world

A black and white photograph of the Queen on a story about how to watch Queen Elizabeth II's funeral
(Image credit: Bettmann via Getty)

How to watch Queen Elizabeth II's funeral on Monday, September 19 will be different depending on where in the world you will be tuning in from.


In the UK, a public holiday has been declared on Monday September 19 and the State funeral of Her Majesty the Queen will be broadcast on BBC One from 8am until 5pm.

Coverage will also appear on BBC Two, and the BBC News channel, and will be available to stream online on BBC iPlayer. 

Coverage on BBC television will be led by Huw Edwards, Kirsty Young, Fergal Keane, David Dimbleby and Sophie Raworth.

Tom Bradby and Julie Etchingham will lead ITV's coverage of Queen Elizabeth II's State Funeral from 9.30am on Monday 19 September, live from Windsor Castle.

Sky News will also air coverage of the funeral of Queen Elizabeth II on Monday 19 September, with live coverage throughout the day available for free on Sky News, YouTube and on Freeview.

The two minute silence during the State Funeral Service will be observed across all live stations.

The Queen’s funeral cortege makes its way along The Mall from Buckingham Palace during the procession for the Lying-in State of Queen Elizabeth II on September 14, 2022 in London, England

(Image credit: Photo by Leon Neal/Getty Images)

How to watch Queen Elizabeth II's funeral in the US

In the US, the coverage of Queen Elizabeth II's funeral being steamed on Youtube by channels such as Sky News will be available to watch for those across North America, but it will mean an early start. To catch the start of the live stream you would need to be logging on from 3am EST or around midnight/1am Pacific Daylight Time.

The service is scheduled to begin at 11am GMT, which is 3am PDT and 6am EDT.

Coverage of the funeral will end at 5pm GMT, which is 9am PDT and 12pm EDT.

If you have cable you can watch Queen Elizabeth II's funeral on channels such as NBC News Now, CNN, ABC, Fox News, and other outlets.

The Coffin Carrying Queen Elizabeth II Is Transferred From Buckingham Palace To The Palace Of Westminster

(Image credit: Photo by Leon Neal/Getty Images)

Ahead of the funeral, people in London have begun to pay their respects to the Queen while her body lies in state at Westminster Hall. Hundreds of thousands of mourners have already lined up to pay their respects to the late Queen, with so many turning out in the first day that the long queue was closed temporarily to help manage the ever-growing crowd. 

Laura is a news writer for woman&home who primarily covers entertainment and celebrity news. Laura dabbles in lifestyle, royal, beauty, and fashion news, and loves to cover anything and everything to do with television and film. She is also passionate about feminism and equality and loves writing about gender issues and feminist literature.


Laura loves drinking and eating and can often be found trying to get reservations at London's trendiest restaurants. When she's not wining and dining, Laura can also be found travelling, baking, and hiking with her dog.