Fire Signs—Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius zodiacs explained

Fire Signs are Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius—here's everything to know about their traits, compatibility, and what it means to be a Fire Sign

Horoscope circle with twelve signs of zodiac on paper, divination dice, colorful stone on pink background Fortune telling and astrology predictions Top view Flat lay.

The Fire Signs of the zodiac share common traits which set them apart from the other elements in the zodiac. As much as these firey signs share traits, what unites them can also set them apart from other signs too.

Your zodiac sign can tell you so much about your personality, strengths, and weaknesses, but are you familiar with what element your zodiac sign is? There are four elements in astrology: air signs, earth signs, water signs, and fires signs. Each element consists of three zodiac signs that all share common traits.

Once you’ve learned your sun, rising, and moon signs from your astrology birth chart, learning more about the elements in your chart can only deepen your knowledge. Here’s everything you need to know about the fire signs in the zodiac: Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius. 

Fire Signs of the Zodiac

  • Aries Zodiac Dates: March 21 – April 19
  • Leo Zodiac Dates: July 23 – August 22
  • Sagittarius Zodiac Dates: November 22 – December 21

Fire signs aren’t afraid to stand out. This is a passionate and action-oriented set of zodiac signs. You are considered a fire sign if you are an Aries, Leo or Sagittarius. If you have some of your other personal planets (moon, Mercury, Venus or Mars) in fire signs, too, you are heavily influenced by this element’s spontaneous nature. 

Think of fire itself. It can be used to keep you warm or, if it’s left unattended, it can wreak havoc and run wild. Fire signs have an erratic zest for life. They are dynamic, creative and inspired beings who live life to the fullest. They can also have a volatile side that is prone to outbursts. 

Open Notebook for writing ideas and astrological birth natal chart laying on pink background. Computer keyboard and mouse nearby. Idea of Astrological Consultation. Flat lay in girly style.

(Image credit: Manuta/Getty Images)

Fire Signs traits

Fire signs will tell you how it is. Each of the fire signs have an honest and direct streak. Leo values honesty above all else, while Aries and Sagittarius speak without a filter. You’re nearly guaranteed to learn what’s actually on their minds. 

These fire signs also thrive in environments that allow them to explore and experience new things in life. These aren’t the type of zodiac signs that order the same thing at their favorite restaurant every time, adventure and new opportunities speak to their souls.

As passionate beings, fire signs all have the ability to inspire others. Their leadership is respected often because their visions are inspiring. They encourage their team members rather than making them feel isolated, and they’re hard workers. Their high energy and passionate mindset also provides them with the stamina and confidence to explore their heart’s wildest desires and ensure those dreams become reality. 

Fire Sign Compatibility

Fire signs are generally compatible with air signs. Astrological compatibility is rather complex. It’s important to take the entire birth chart into consideration before determining compatibility. 

But if we’re talking basics, fire signs’ flames are fed by air. These two elements can be more social, outgoing and adventurous. They operate with similar mindsets. Air signs are all about communication, and fire signs aren’t afraid to keep a conversation going. 

Air signs are known for their innovative ideas and profound ability to communicate. Fire signs’ passion and encouragement helps air signs bring those projects to life, while air signs’ intellect can also help fire signs hone in on their vision and plans with more detail. This combo is a match made in the stars.


As the first sign of the zodiac, Aries has an insatiable thirst for life experience. It has this new energy and is eager to explore, pioneer, and prove itself as a leader. Aries is an act-now-and-ask-for-forgiveness-later type of sign. This fire sign is ruled by the planet Mars, which represents, drive, motivation, ambition, passion, war, anger, and action. It’s fair to say there’s a lot of energy with this sign.

Aries need physical outlets to process some of their energy. Exercise is key. Whether it's a brisk walk a day or rock climbing, Aries benefits when they have a medium to channel all of their intense energy. As a cardinal sign, Aries don't follow, they lead. Aries is great at initiating and starting projects but may struggle with following through from time to time. They are incredibly motivated, courageous, and brave. When they have a vision they aren’t afraid to delegate to others to bring it to life.

Aries can be incredibly stubborn and self-involved. It can take a lot for an Aries to recognize that their way may not be the most efficient way. Aries leadership is unparalleled once they learn that incorporating others’ feedback makes their vision come to life in an even more powerful way.


As the fifth sign in the zodiac, Leo appears during the middle of summer. Ruled by the sun in astrology, it’s no wonder this sign believes the world truly does revolve around them. The sun represents life force, identity, and ego. Leo energy is dynamic, playful, and dramatic. They go big. Leos are passionate, creative, and generous, but also incredibly stubborn.

This fire sign is born with the ability to be a natural leader. It’s imperative that this zodiac sign keeps their egos in check. As a fixed sign in the zodiac, it’s incredibly difficult to change Leo’s mind. Once they’ve got a vision in their head, they want to execute it exactly according to their plan.

Many Leos still maintain that access to their inner child and childhood joy. It’s critical for this fire sign to incorporate hobbies from their youth, or activities that bring them joy into their routine and lives. They never forget what it’s like to be a child and to soak up fun on the playground. Leo's energy is also incredibly hardworking. They embody the “work hard, play hard” mentality. 


Sagittarius is ruled by the biggest planet in the sky: Jupiter. No wonder they naturally draw attention from others. This fire sign is independent, direct, and adventurous. Sagittarius seeks knowledge. They are eternal students of the Universe. Sagittarius' are eager to learn from any and every encounter. Jupiter represents luck, opportunity, and expansion. Sagittarius are the travelers of the zodiac and are always looking for their next big adventure.

Jupiter’s expansive influence also lends Sagittarius an optimistic view. They tend to skew toward the positive and also look at the big picture. Overcommitting can be an issue because in their minds, they can do it all. Sagittarius energy benefits from scaling back and focusing on a few projects at a time when possible. This fire sign is also incredibly restless. Their mind moves quickly and boredom can set in easily. They require stimulation and excitement in order to consider something fulfilling. 

Stephanie N. Campos

Stephanie Campos-Powell is a Mexican-American astrologer, modern mystic, writer, editor, and serious cat lover. She's got four obnoxious planets in Leo and thanks the stars every day for her grounding Virgo moon. Reading celebrity birth charts just puts the wind in her sails, and so does Zumba. In her spare time, you can find her helping others step into their power with the help of magic, spellwork, astrology and various healing modalities. And creating passive-aggressive astrology memes about her loved ones.