Style Christmas Your Way

Break the partywear rules and dress with confidence your way – these fabulous readers show how it’s done…

Back to black: New Year’s Eve party

Lesley Exley, MD at Exley Hervey Executive Search, and daughter Francesca, 20, who is studying at Leeds university, both live in London and love a bit of glamour for the festive season.

Francesca keeps it chic with a spaghetti strap dress – and the same detail echoed in her shoes.

Dress, LK Bennett, Buy now on LKbennett.com for £295.

Shoes, Kurt Geiger, Buy now on kurtgeiger.com for £130.

Necklace (worn as bracelet), £178, Butler & Wilson, Buy now on butlerandwilson.com for £178.

Ring, Konplott, Buy now on konplott.com for £107

Lesley plays down her patterned coat with simple black trousers.

Jacket, Joseph Ribkoff, Buy now on charlesvermont.com for £307.

Trousers, Joseph, Buy now on Joseph.com for £195.

Shoes, Lesley’s own.

Necklace, Konplott, Buy now on konplott.com for £107.

Cuff, Halo & Co, Buy now on thefollyboutique.com for £320.

Ring, Konplott, Buy now on konplott.com for £49.

Graphic note: Family get-together
Sisters Lorna Hayes, 48, and Brenda Katsaros, 50, both live in London with their daughters, Natalie, 17, and Eleni, 12. They’re having a house party at Christmas.

Natalie keeps on trend with a cropped jumpsuit and this season’s backless shoes.

Roll neck, Biba, Buy now on Houseofraser.com for £30.

Jumpsuit, Next, Buy now on next.com for £48.

Shoes, Sol Sana, Buy now on solsana.com for £144.

Lorna uses vertical stripes to elongate her silhouette. The result? A sophisticated approach to maxi-dress styling.

Dress, £225, 8-14, Max & Co at Fenwick Bond Street.

Sandals, Carvela, Buy now on kurtgeiger.com for £125.

Necklace, Coccinelle, Buy now on Coccinelle.com for £140.

Eleni ups the fun factor with a novelty bag.

Dress, Ted Baker, Buy now on Tedbaker.com for £159.

Coca-Cola cross-body bag, Skinny Dip, Buy now on skinnydip.com for £30.

Shoes, French Sole, Buy now on frenchsole.com for £95.

Face mask (worn as a necklace), H&M, Buy now on handm.com for £6.99.

Brenda chooses a formal 1950s skirt, but dresses it down with an everyday blouse.

Silk top, Massimo Dutti, Buy now on massimodutti.com for £54.95.

Skirt, Ted Baker, Buy now on tedbaker.com for £169.

Bag, Lulu Guinness, Buy now on luluguiness.com for £295.

Sandals, Phase Eight, Buy now on phaseeight.com for £99.

Bangle, Anton Heunis, Buy now on veryexclusive.com for £120.

Red alert: Drinks with the girls
Bonnie Rakhit, 38, is the fashion blogger behind thestyletraveller.com and is friends with pastry chef and blogger Clare Zerny, 37 (clarezerny.com). Both live in London, love fashion and like to try new trends.

Bonnie plays with proportions in this cropped culotte jumpsuit.

Jumpsuit, Alesha Dixon at Little Black Dress, Buy now on littleblackdress.com for £129.

Velvet sandals, Mango, Buy now on mango.com for £69.99.

Clare ups the ante by mixing different shades of red in her outfit and accessories.

Top, £95; leather skirt, £325, LK Bennett, buy now on lkbennett.com.

Tights, Heist, Buy now on heist.com for £20.

Bag, Furla, Buy now on furla.com for £305.

Shoes, Russell & Bromley, Buy now on russellandbromley.com for £165.

Ring, Erika, Buy now on wolfandbadger.com for £100.

Silver linings: Christmas lunch
Lynda Adey, 71, from Leicetershire, her daughter Pippa Lindsay, 41, from Hertfordshire, and granddaughter Millie, six, like to combine comfort with a bit of sparkle. Pippa runs fashion business Pour Quoi, selling through Facebook and from her home.

Lynda wears loose knitted layers and adds a luxe edge with snake-print heels.

Sweater, £45; matching skirt, £40, J by Jasper Conran Buy now on Debenhams.com.

Shawl, £239, Exquisite J at Fenwick Bond Street.

Shoes, £25, Simply Be, Buy now on simplybe.com for £25.

Bracelet, Ted Baker, Buy now on tedbaker.com for £75.

Millie is a bit of a tomboy so a denim dungaree dress and sparkly trainers are perfect.

Sweater, Next, Buy now on next.com for £13.

Dungaree dress, Bluezoo, Buy now on Debenhams.com for £16.

Tights, Monsoon, Buy now on monsoon.com for £8.

Trainers, Gap, Buy now on Gap.com for £19.95.

Pippa loves a super-soft sweater and ramps up the glam with a sequinned skirt.

Sweater, Hobbs, Buy now on Hobbs.com for £89.

Skirt, JD Williams, Buy now on JDwilliams.com for £39.

Shoes, Mint Velvet, Buy now on mintvelvet.com for £199.

Bracelet (top) Butler & Wilson, Buy now on butlerandwilson.com for £138.

Other bracelet, Coccinelle, Buy now on Coccinelle.com for £93.

Ring, Adore buy now on houseoffraser.com for £39.

Most Popular